Article Archive

Invite a Friend

Tell us
what you would
like to see
on this site.

Cub Advancements
Webelos Activity Badges
Sports Program
Academics Program
Cub Awards

Boy Scout Advancement
Required Merit Badges
Merit Badges
Boy Scout Awards

Venture Advancement
Venture Awards
Sea Scout Advancement
Sea Scout Awards

Order of the Arrow

Religious Awards
Bravery & Merit Awards
Outstanding Service Awards
Scouting Support Awards

Youth Awards for Leaders
Insignia for Youth Awards
Cub Leader Awards
Boy Scout Leader Awards
Venture Leader Awards
Sea Scout Leader Awards
Adult Leader Awards

Adult Advancement
   Adult Scout Rank
   Adult Tenderfoot Rank
   Adult 2nd Class Rank
   Adult 1st Class Rank
   Adult Star Rank
   Adult Life Rank
   Golden Eagle
   Adult Eagle Palms
Adult Required MBs
Adult MBs
    Requirements for
Adult 2nd Class Rank
Printer Friendly Version
NOTE: These requirements may be worked on simultaneously with those for the Tenderfoot and First Class ranks; however these ranks must be earned in sequence.
1.Demonstrate scout spirit by living the Scout Oath (Promise), Law, Motto, and Slogan in your everyday life.
2.Since earning the Adult Scout Rank, have participated in five separate troop/patrol activities (other than troop/patrol meetings), two of which included camping overnight.
NOTE: In these requirements, camping is defined as sleeping in a tent or under the stars. Campers, trailers, cabins, etc. do not count as camping nights for your adult advancement requirements.
3.Since earning the Adult Scout Rank, have actively served for at least 60 days in one of the following positions of responsibility: Chartered Organization Representative, Committee Chairman, Committee Member, Scoutmaster, Assistant Scoutmaster, Chaplain, Crew Advisor, Crew Associate Advisor, Varsity Scout Coach, Assistant Varsity Scout Coach, Unit Commissioner, District Commissioner, District Chairman, District Committee Member, Roundtable Staff, Huddle Staff, OA Chapter Advisor, OA Assistant Chapter Advisor, or Equivalent Council / Regional / Area / or National Position.
4.Acquire all the appropriate insignia (Council Strip, Unit Numbers, World Crest, Epaulets, Position Badge, any square-knot insignia you have earned, any OA insignia, etc.) for your Official BSA Uniform Shirt, attach the insignia, and wear it to all scouting meetings and activities (unless the planned activity dictates otherwise).
5.Identify or show evidence of at least twenty kinds of wild animals (birds, mammals, reptiles, fish, mollusks) found in your community.
6.Earn the Totin' Chip and Fireman Chit.
7.Earn 3 more adult merit badges, including 2 from the required list for 1st Class. (This should make a total of 5 merit badges, 3 of them being required.)
First Class required Merit Badges are: Citizenship in the Nation, Cooking, First Aid, Orienteering, Pioneering, and Swimming.
NOTE: Because most of the youth Rank requirements through 1st Class are covered by these 6 Merit Badges, we have not included these individual requirements for the ranks, but rather get you started on the Merit Badges.
8.Complete the appropriate Position Specific ‘Basic' training for your scouting position.
9.Since earning the Adult Scout Rank, take part in at least 2 service projects in which you served at least 3 total hours (not including hours spent fulfilling your duties in your position of responsibility or in training).
10.Participate in an Online Scoutaholic conference.
11.Pass an Online Scoutaholic Rank Review.