Article Archive

Invite a Friend

Tell us
what you would
like to see
on this site.

Cub Advancements
Webelos Activity Badges
Sports Program
Academics Program
Cub Awards

Boy Scout Advancement
Required Merit Badges
Merit Badges
Boy Scout Awards

Venture Advancement
   Venturing Award
   Discovery Award
   Pathfinder Award
   Summit Award
Venture Awards
Sea Scout Advancement
Sea Scout Awards

Order of the Arrow

Religious Awards
Bravery & Merit Awards
Outstanding Service Awards
Scouting Support Awards

Youth Awards for Leaders
Insignia for Youth Awards
Cub Leader Awards
Boy Scout Leader Awards
Venture Leader Awards
Sea Scout Leader Awards
Adult Leader Awards

Adult Advancement
Adult Required MBs
Adult MBs
    Requirements for
Printer Friendly Version
PLEASE NOTE: The Venturing Program is in the process of some major revisions. These revisions will affect the award structure.
Ranger, Quest, and Trust will still be available with revised requirements.
The new award system is to be announced in May 2014.
How to Become a Ranger
This is not an easy, quick award to earn. It will take planning, time, initiative, and plenty of hard work. It will probably take you over a year to complete all the requirements, but that too will speak to your determination and staying power, two more attributes of a Ranger.
There are two types of requirements: Core requirements and Electives
In the core area, you will achieve a high level of proficiency in the areas of:
Standard First Aid
Wilderness Survival
Leave No Trace
Land Navigation
Emergency Preparedness
In addition to the eight core requirements, you must complete at least four of the 18 electives. They are:
Cave Exploring
Cycling/Mountain Biking
First Aid
Outdoor Living History
Physical Fitness
Plants and Wildlife
Project COPE
Scuba Certification
Shooting Sports
Winter Sports
Venturers, who have received the Outdoor Bronze Award, need only complete four of the core requirements and two electives to qualify for the Ranger Award, since they already have completed four core requirements and two electives already.
There are a variety of ways to approach these requirements. Many requirements you must do completely on your own. Others you might choose to do on your own or with others, such as scuba certification. Others your crew might decide to do as a crew, such as Project COPE. The key is to have a plan and to have initiative. Not everyone will be a Ranger; only those who are willing to learn, work hard, and meet the requirements will be known as Rangers.
You may work with outside consultants who have expertise in the area you are working in, such as a scuba dive instructor for the scuba diving requirement or a certified first aid instructor for the first aid requirement. However, you must have these consultants preapproved by your Advisor. Consultants may initial and date your Ranger Guidebook when you have completed the requirement.
Once you have completed a requirement, have your Advisor or the consultant who worked with you on your requirement initial and date your Ranger Guidebook. Then, when you complete all eight core requirements and at least four electives, have your Advisor review your completed requirements, certify your completion of the Ranger Award requirements, and order your Ranger Award.
You may receive multiple credit for requirements, such as using an American Red Cross Emergency Response Course for credit in the first aid core requirement and for the first aid and lifesaver electives. The only time you cannot receive multiple credit is when you are required to do a tabletop display or presentation. If a core requirement or elective requires you to do a tabletop display or presentation on a particular subject, then it must be done just on that subject, not two or more at a time.
All core requirements and electives require you to do work as a Venturer. As an example, you may have earned the Backpacking merit badge as a Boy Scout, but you must do all that is required in the Ranger backpacking elective as a Venturer. Some core requirements and electives require some type of certification, such as scuba Open Water Diver, Standard First Aid, or BSA Lifeguard. This certification may be used regardless of when you received it as long as the certification is still current.