Article Archive

Invite a Friend

Tell us
what you would
like to see
on this site.

Cub Advancements
Webelos Activity Badges
Sports Program
Academics Program
Cub Awards

Boy Scout Advancement
   Scout Rank
   Tenderfoot Rank
   Second Class Rank
   First Class Rank
   Star Rank
   Life Rank
   Eagle Rank
   Eagle Palms
Required Merit Badges
Merit Badges
Boy Scout Awards

Venture Advancement
Venture Awards
Sea Scout Advancement
Sea Scout Awards

Order of the Arrow

Religious Awards
Bravery & Merit Awards
Outstanding Service Awards
Scouting Support Awards

Youth Awards for Leaders
Insignia for Youth Awards
Cub Leader Awards
Boy Scout Leader Awards
Venture Leader Awards
Sea Scout Leader Awards
Adult Leader Awards

Adult Advancement
Adult Required MBs
Adult MBs
    Requirements for
Eagle Palms
Printer Friendly Version
After successfully completing your Eagle Scout board of review on or after Aug. 1, 2017, and being validated as an Eagle Scout by the National Service Center, you will be entitled to receive an Eagle Palm for each additional five merit badges you completed before your Eagle board of review beyond those required for Eagle. All current Scouts who have completed their Eagle board of review and who had not passed their 18th birthday before Aug. 1, 2017, are also entitled to receive Eagle Palms. For these Palms only, it will not be necessary for you to complete the requirements stated below.
After becoming an Eagle Scout and receiving the Eagle Palms you are entitled to, you may earn additional Palms by completing the following requirements:
1.Be active in the Boy Scouts of America for at least three months after becoming an Eagle Scout or after the last Palm was earned.15
2.Since earning the Eagle Scout rank or your last Eagle Palm, demonstrate Scout spirit by living the Scout Oath and Scout Law. Tell how you have done your duty to God and how you have lived the Scout Oath and Scout Law in your everyday life.
3.Continue to set a satisfactory example of accepting responsibility or demonstrating leadership ability.
4.Earn five additional merit badges beyond those required for Eagle or last Palm.16
5.While an Eagle Scout, participate in a Scoutmaster conference. *
You may wear only the proper combination of Palms for the number of merit badges you earned beyond the rank of Eagle. The Bronze Palm represents 5 merit badges, the Gold Palm 10, and the Silver Palm 15.
(To represent 20 wear 1 Silver and 1 Bronze. To represent 25 wear 1 Silver and 1 Gold. To represent 30 wear 2 Silver. ...)
(It is never correct to wear all three palm colors at the same time, as some scouts mistakenly do when they have earned 15 merit badges beyond the rank of Eagle.)
For Venturers working on Boy Scout requirements, replace “Scoutmaster” with “crew Advisor.”
For Sea Scouts working on Boy Scout requirements, replace “Scoutmaster” with “Skipper.”
15Eagle Palms must be earned in sequence, and the three-month tenure requirement must be observed for each Palm.
16Merit badges earned any time since becoming a Boy Scout may be used to meet this requirement.
NOTE: All requirements for Eagle Palms must be completed before a candidate's 18th birthday.